Share on

Badminton Association of Malaysia (BAM) held a memorable occasion to celebrate the successes achieved by 2021 Hanoi SEA Games gold medalists and also 2022 Birmingham Commonwealth Games athletes.

In Hanoi 2021, Chen Tang Jie-Peck Yen Wei picked up their biggest career title with a mixed doubles gold medal after coming from a game down to beat national team-mates Hoo Pang Ron-Cheah Yee See in the final.

In Birmingham, the national team comprised of a healthy mix of experience and youth managed to reclaim the mixed team event gold.

BAM acknowledges the hard work, commitment and sacrifices of the team. These players put their bodies on the line for the pride and glory of our Jalur Gemilang.

The Association would like to congratulate Pearly-Thinaah, Tang Jie-Peck Yen Wei, coach Rexy Mainaky, Tze Yong, coach Choong Hann, Aaron-Wooi Yik, Kian Meng-Pei Jing, all the backroom staff and the other national badminton players who competed in Hanoi and Birmingham.

  • RM140,000 for the members of the 2022 Birmingham Commonwealth Games Mixed Team. This is Malaysia’s fourth Mixed Team gold after Melbourne 2006, New Delhi 2010 and Glasgow 2014.
  • RM50,000 for the heroics of Pearly-Thinaah winning gold in the women’s doubles. Debutants Pearly-Thinaah are now only the fifth Malaysian pair to win gold in the event after Ang Li Peng-Lim Pek Siah (2002 Manchester), Chin Eei Hui-Wong Pei Tty (2006 Melbourne), Vivian Hoo-Woon Khe Wei (2004 Glasgow) and Lee Meng Yean-Vivian Hoo (2018 Gold Coast).


  • RM30,000 for Tang Jie-Yen Wei for ending the country’s 23-year wait for a SEA Games mixed doubles gold. Their win was the country’s first mixed doubles gold since 1999 through Chew Choong Eng-Chor Hooi Yee.


  • RM10,000 for Tze Yong with his silver medal finish in the men’s singles.


  • RM7,500 each for our bronze medallists pairs – Aaron Chia-Soh Wooi Yik (Men’s Doubles) and Tan Kian Meng-Lai Pei Jing (Mixed Doubles).


  • For the record, badminton has now delivered a total of 89 medals (31 Gold, 22 Silver, 16 Bronze) at the Commonwealth Games.